Product Review: Yes To Tomatoes Daily Clarifying Cleanser

product review, beauty, skincare, oily skin

Sorry it’s been a while, peeps!

…is it cool if I call you peeps?

It’s been a bit hectic lately IRL for me and I’ve neglected my blog horribly. I feel terrible and I solemnly swear not to fall behind again.*

Today’s post is on a cleanser I’ve been using in the mornings for the past several months, the Yes To Tomatoes Daily Clarifying Cleanser. The Yes To line is one that I first noticed popping up in my local drugstores a couple years ago and have been steadily working my way through ever since. Their Yes To Cucumbers Facial Wipes currently rank as my all-time favorite cleansing wipes and the Yes To Cucumbers Eye Makeup Remover Pads are in the process of being tested as we speak. So far the only product from the brand that’s been a real let down is the Yes To Cucumbers Daily Calming Moisturizer with SPF 30 which I picked up during my search for an affordable day cream with an SPF higher than 15. The moisturizer is a total miss, the cream is super thick and patchy and leaves you with odd white zinc spots all over your face that are nearly impossible to blend away.

The Yes To Tomatoes Facial Cleanser is a totally different story, however. I’ve been on a bit of a mission over the past six months or so to find decent drugstore cleansers that are non-foaming, gel formulas. Non-foaming because foaming cleansers disrupt your skin’s natural acid mantle which leads to excessive drying, and gel because it’s supposedly the most effective texture for oily skin types. It turns out that this is a fairly rare combination, at least in the drugstore.

The Yes To Tomatoes cleanser is not only gel-based and non-foaming but is also 96% natural and formulated without petroleum, SLS, or parabens. It’s cruelty free too! So far, so good. The active ingredients are lycopene (from tomatoes) which serves as a natural antioxidant with anti-inflammatory properties; red tea, another source of antioxidants; and watermelon, which contains natural fruity acids to help exfoliate and cleanse the skin while also hydrating it.

Overall, this is a pretty great drugstore cleanser. It has a vaguely medicinal scent which, while not my favorite, is subtle and doesn’t linger. It leaves my face feeling clean and refreshed without the tight dryness I typically associate with clarifying cleansers. This definitely is the thickest of the formulas I’ve tried, the gel is oddly viscous, to the point where it was occasionally hard for my fingers to gain traction against my skin. While that did take me quite a while to come to terms with, it’s by no means a deal breaker.

The Yes To Tomatoes Daily Clarifying Cleanser is an excellent, affordable facial cleanser for anyone with oily, problematic skin or anyone looking for an effective cleanser that won’t disrupt their skin’s pH balance. While I have decided to try something new when this bottle runs out, I have a feeling I’ll come back to this cleanser many times in the future.

$9.99/3.38 0z at most drugstores.

* I advise you take that promise with a healthy dose of skepticism.

Leave a Reply

