Product Review: Origins Plantscription SPF 25 Anti-Aging Oil-Free Cream

skin care, oily skin, moisturizer, day cream, product reviewBack before the sun cruelly abandoned New York to a grey and snowy winter, I went in search for a good daytime moisturizer with built-in SPF. When I spotted Origins Plantscription SPF 25 on the shelves at Sephora, I couldn’t resist. Not only is Origins one of my favorite skin care brands, but the cream was oil-free, anti-aging, and had a broad spectrum SPF higher than 15. With all my boxes checked, I whisked it straight to the checkout counter.

Having been using this cream for a number of months now, I still go back and forth about whether or not I love it. On the upside, this cream has a gorgeous, rich consistency; a lovely, subdued herbal scent; built-in SPF; beautiful packaging; and it really moisturizes the skin. On the downside, the formula is heavy: it needs at least ten minutes to sink into the skin and can leave you looking a tad shiny. For someone with oily skin like me, that makes this moisturizer a no go for the warmer months. During the winter; however, my dehydrated skin has been loving the intensity of this cream, it’s become a daily staple. The other downside is the price, at $55/1.7oz this product is a tad expensive, though it does last a number of months.

Overall, I’d say this moisturizer is better suited to dryer/normal skin types or for faces that need some extra TLC this winter. While I’ve enjoyed using it, I don’t think I’ll be repurchasing Plantscription SPF 25 any time in the near future.

Image credit: Origins.com

Leave a Reply

