Product Review: Rimmel Scandaleyes Lycra Flex Mascara

makeup, cosmetics, drugstore, review, rimmel, benefit, mascara

I’ve long awaited this day – the glorious day I find a bonafide drugstore dupe for Benefit’s BADgal Lash mascara. For years, BADgal has been my go-to for fluttery, daytime lashes. And for years I’ve resented shelling out $19 per tube. Well no more, my friends. Rimmel London’s  Scandaleyes Lycra Flex Mascara just might be usurping BADgal’s throne (and it’s a much more affordable $6.99).

Let’s start with the packaging, it has one of those super thick, chunky tubes which I oddly really like, but can take up more than it’s fair share of real estate in your makeup bag. The tube itself is also very lightweight (not that mascara is traditionally muscle-straining but this one is practically weightless). The brush, like BADgal’s, is oversized and full-bristled, which works beautifully to comb through your lashes.

Now for the the good stuff – what it looks like on. I really love this mascara, my lashes look long, curled and oh so fluttery. In the interest of full disclosure, I’ll admit I love a good daytime mascara; something that doesn’t clump and gives me length and volume without looking like I have a ton of mascara on. One coat will give you beautiful, natural lashes: two will up the volume for something that could transition into nighttime. If you’re into a super glam, full-on mascara look then this isn’t the product for you. If, like me, you sometimes enjoy a softer look, this is definitely worth giving a go. The formula also dries to be fairly flexible, you’re not left with that stiff lash feeling you find with more intense mascaras like Maybelline’s The Rocket or Benefit’s They’re Real.

Now for what you really care about, photographic proof of what the mascara looks like on. You’ll have to excuse the quality, I’m using an iPhone and good light is scarce in an apartment with itty bitty windows.

rimmel london scandaleyes lycra flex, mascara, review, before & after, fotd

Anyone else tried this mascara? From what I’ve heard on Twitter, it’s a real hit or miss product.

10 thoughts on “Product Review: Rimmel Scandaleyes Lycra Flex Mascara

    • Glad someone else loves it too – I was starting to feel like the only one ha. And I totally get you, it’s too fun trying new mascaras to stay loyal to one for long!

      • Well, there’s a lot of different brands on the market and every time a new product is launched everyone have to try it and so all the good ol’ and trusty products is forgotten. I’m not surprised there’s a few of us left 😉 But then again… I’m loyal to over 5 different mascaras at this point 😀

  1. Love it! My favorite for years has been Too Faced Lash Injection and the closest I’ve been able to come from a drugstore brand is Maybelline Mega Plush but it takes four or five coats to get close to the look I get from two coats of Lash Injection. Lucky to find a drugstore dupe for your favorite mascarsa! I’ll have to go check it out!

    -Katie
    beautybycaitlin.com

Leave a Reply

