Tips & Tricks: Quickie Winter Skin Tip

If your skin is anything like mine, aka oily and prone to breakouts, you’ve most likely amassed a rather extensive collection of drying/purifying/detoxifying face masks over the years. Usually, this is a wonderful thing. During a particularly harsh winter, however, it becomes a slight problem. As I mentioned before in my Hydration Station: Winter Survival Kit post, my apartment is heated by evil radiators whose apparent goal in life is to suck every last drop of moisture out of my skin. Nowadays, when I reach for one of my trusty masks, I have to worry about drying my already dehydrated skin even further.

Since breakouts are rudely immune to seasonal changes, I’ve been forced to come up with a compromise. Instead of applying a face mask in the usual manner, I use it as a spot treatment instead. I grab an old standby (like Origins Clear Improvement or AHAVA Purifying Mud Mask) and dab it only on areas with active acne, using a slightly lighter hand. This way, I get that pampered satisfaction unique to a face mask without stressing my winter face. As Hannah Montana would say, it’s the best of both worlds.

Anyone else have sneaky winter skin care tricks? I’d love to hear ’em!

Leave a Reply

