Sweater Weather Tag

It is officially fall in my apartment.  Butternut squash soup is simmering on the stove, the AC units have been pulled from the windows, and an embarrassingly large amount of holiday-themed Yankee candles has invaded the living room. There may even be a few Christmas carols piping their way around my room – too soon? Nonsense.

I’ve seen this ultimate fall tag floating around YouTube for a little while now and when I saw one of my favorite beauty gurus, Miss Glamorazzi do it, she inspired me to do the same.

1. Favorite candle scent?

candles, scent, fall, bath and body works, home

No contest for this one. It’s Cider Donut from Bath & Bodyworks. I already extolled its many virtues here in my August/September monthly favorites. I’m well on my way to burning through my second one in as many months. I’m not 100% sure you can still buy it, they may have already switched to their winter scents but if that’s the case, try Fresh Balsam, it’s like a Christmas tree in a jar!

2. Coffee, tea, or hot chocolate?

Tea alllll the way. This is either the result of my English childhood or the fact my new roommate collects tea with the determination of one stockpiling for the end of the world. My favorites are English Breakfast, Chai, and Vanilla Chamomile.

3. What’s the best fall memory you have?

Nothing springs to mind for this question, I guess I don’t have a special memory that I associate with fall. The only thing I could think of were Guy Fawkes nights back in England. For those of you in the US, it’s a holiday, also known as Bonfire Night, celebrated in the UK on November 5th to commemorate the failure of the Gunpowder Plot, an assassination attempt on King James back in 1605 that involved sticking a ton of Gunpowder under Parliament. Guy Fawkes was the fellow caught guarding the explosives and has become the unfortunate figurehead of the whole holiday. If I remember correctly, it’s traditional to build a straw man in his image that burns on top of a massive bonfire – hmm this seems a little macabre now that I’m actually writing it down ha. For me, Guy Fawkes night meant a gathering of family and neighbors, a huge bonfire, and fireworks. A pretty excellent way to spend a fall night, if you ask me.

4. Which makeup trend do you prefer: dark lips or winged eyeliner?

Winged eyeliner. I’m not really one for dark lips, the darkest I usually go is something along the lines of the “Pink Truffle” Lip Butter from Revlon. Winged eyeliner, however, is my jam. I tend to create my look using a espresso colored eyeshadow and a fine liner brush, partly because it’s by far the easiest method, and partly because it creates a much softer effect than the classic liquid liner look.

5. Best fragrance for fall?

I’m cheating a little for this one and giving you two, a new favorite and a rediscovered one. The new favorite being the Chloe Eau du Parfum I picked up from Sephora a month ago and have been obsessing over ever since. Since describing fragrances is notoriously difficult, I’ll give you the summary from Sephora:

Top notes of pink peony, freesia, and lychee embody subtle freshness. At the heart, midnotes of magnolia flower, lily of the valley, and rose rise to sublimated femininity. A base of velvety elegance comes to fruition through cedarwood, amber, and honey.

It’s a chic blend of fresh and slightly floral that makes me feel simultaneously feminine and sophisticated. The staying power is also out of this world, it’s the only perfume I own that I can still smell on myself at the end of the day – major points.

fragrance, perfume, review, scent, fall, floral, sweet, spicy, sexy, sensual, diesel

The fragrance rediscovery is Diesel Plus Plus Feminine. I received this as a gift years ago in high school and, while I loved it, felt the slightly spicy, floral scent was too mature and sexy for me at the time. Fast forward several years to when I’m super mature and sexy…just kidding, but I am technically a grownup, so I feel more comfortable wearing stronger scents. I can’t find a decent summary online, so I’ll take a stab at describing it for you. The fragrance is smooth, sweet, and slightly floral, with a vaguely spicy undertone that lends the perfume an almost masculine feel. Does that make any sense? Either way, it feels like the perfect fall fragrance and, after so many years on the sidelines, it’s finally getting some use! It looks like the fragrance has been discontinued but you can still find it online pretty easily.

6. Favorite Thanksgiving food?

Am I allowed to say all of it? No? Ok, then I’m gonna have to go with pumpkin pie. But not your standard pumpkin pie, oh no. I’m referring to the secret family recipe pumpkin chiffon pie that’s been served at my thanksgiving table for as long as I can remember. Since it’s a chiffon, it’s much lighter than your average pumpkin pie (think a firm chocolate mousse texture) and more strongly spiced. It’s so amazing we have to make at least two every year lest a riot start. We also have to make it on Christmas for the same reason.

7. What is autumn weather like where you live?

I’m still figuring it out! It’s my first official fall in NYC but so far it’s been lovely, fluctuating between the low fifties to mid sixties. My mom, stuck back in FL, is terribly jealous, it’s approaching the nineties again in Orlando! Honestly Florida, has no one told you Christmas is coming??

8. Most worn sweater?

fall, fashion, sweaters, winter, H&M

I am absolutely living in my new knit sweaters from H&M at the moment. I have two, one in a blue/grey and one in a lovely plummy wine color. They’re a thick, soft, loose knit and have a half zip down the back which adds just enough detail to make it look chic. I bought them in a medium so they have a slightly slouchy, comfy look instead of a fitted one and I can’t tell you how many people have complimented me on them or asked where I bought them. The only downside is that, due to the loose knit of the sweater, it’s super easy to catch on things and pull out of shape. They can be a bit hard to find in stores but I’ve managed to find them online here. Anyone looking for a great fall sweater that’s super easy to style – I highly recommend these, or H&M in general!

9. Must-have nail polish this fall?

I know fall is supposed to be all about the sophisticated reds, purples, and navies but I’m going with a neutral for this one. I love me some bright nail polish, I’m particularly partial to yellows, blues, and greens, so fall, for me, is more about muted colors than vampy darks. One of the first polishes I reached for when the weather turned cool this year was Essie’s Chinchilly, a medium grey with warm undertones. It’s neutral and classy without boring. I especially love this on my toes, it’s one of the few beige/gray polishes that suits my uber pale complexion.

10. Football games or jumping in leaf piles? 

Is it just me or is this a bit of an odd question? While I wanna say leaf piles since it seems the most fun and fall-themed, I’ve always found the actual act to be a bit underwhelming. Maybe my leaf piles were never big enough but I usually just ended up with a bruised butt and a yard that needed a second raking. Also, for some reason, the first thing I thought of when reading this question was the warning I would hear back in England when I was a kid about how leaf piles were full of leeches?? Is this a UK thing? Either way, I just googled it and apparently leeches in leaf piles is a total myth. Something tells me the weary dads of the world started it to keep their painstakingly raked leaf piles free of airborne children.

11. Skinny jeans or leggings?

Team skinny jeans! I think if I ever wore leggings out in public I’d spend the whole day feeling like I forgot to put on pants. I know they’re super comfy and all but I just can’t bring myself to do it. Also, as my public service announcement of the day, can I just say that nude leggings are NEVER a good idea. Never. Ever. And yes, I have seen the nude legging look worn in real life – twice.

12. Combat boots or Uggs?

shoes, fall, fashion, trends, combat boots, steve madden

Gotta go with combat boots. This has to be one of the most practical trends ever: a sturdy, durable, and comfy shoe. Here’s to hoping they never go out of style. I live in my black Steve Madden pair, they’re super comfy, easy to style and are still going strong after over a year of use (I personally thing they look even better a little scuffed). Pretty sure they’re the Troopa style if anyone’s interested!

13. Is pumpkin spice worth the hype?

I think this is mostly in reference to coffee which I don’t drink but I’d still have to say yes. It just instantly makes you feel in the holiday spirit. Pies, breads, teas, coffees, eggnog – however you have it, it’s always a crowd pleaser.

14. Favorite fall TV show?

scandal, TV, fall, tag, entertainment

I’ll be honest, I’m not much of a TV watcher. Periodically I’ll get into a groove and follow a bunch of shows for a while online (Modern Family, The Good Wife, New Girl, How I Met Your Mother…etc.) but I always seem to lose my way after a while and fall super behind. One show I have been managing to watch recently, however, is Scandal. I’m a sucker for smart, fast-paced dialogue (Gilmore Girls anyone?) and strong female leads and this show has both. It’s brilliantly written, superbly acted, and full of devious and complex plot lines that will keep you clicking “next episode” on Netflix until the wee hours.

15. What song really gets you into the fall spirit?

I’m not really sure what to put for this. As I mentioned above, I’m already busting out some Christmas music but that’s more winter spirit than fall. I guess I’ll just choose what I’ve been listening to recently which is a lot of mellow, sweet music like Passenger, The WeepiesJose Gonzalez, and Ray LaMontagne. As a bonus for y’all for making it to the end of this mammoth post I’m gonna include an gorgeous illustrated video, “Thought of You,” that’s set to a Weepies song. Seriously watch it, it’s incredible!

What about you guys? If anyone else is tempted to do the Sweater Weather tag, let me know – I’d love to read them!

Image Credits: Ebay.com, Wilko.com, H&M.com, Stevemadden.com, HuffingtonPost.com

Leave a Reply

