Product Review: L’Oreal Telescopic Shocking Extensions mascara

mascara, L'Oreal, drugstore, makeup, beauty, cosmetics, review, eyes

Mascara is just about my favorite thing to experiment with (excluding pizza toppings and number of times I can hit the snooze button and still make it to work on time). It’s one of the few beauty items that’s just as good, if not better, when purchased from the drugstore. And since I’m someone who uses mascara every day, I tend to run through tubes fairly quickly so cheaper is definitely better. My current favorites are Maybelline’s The Falsies Flared for my top lashes and Clinique’s Bottom Lash Mascara for the lower ones; I promise you can’t go wrong with that combo.

I was feeling adventurous in Target the other week and, instead of buying the usual, ended up getting about four different mascaras I’ve seen popping up across different beauty blogs and YouTube channels. One of these mascaras was the L’Oreal Telescopic Shocking Extensions mascara. I was turned on to this mascara by Anna of Vivianna Does Makeup. She’s been vowing her love for this number for as long as I’ve been reading so I thought it was high time to give it a go. To be 100% honest, Anna loves the L’Oreal Telescopic mascara in waterproof but I’m entirely too lazy to deal with waterproof makeup at the end of the day so I went with the shocking extensions non-waterproof one instead.

So, did it live up to the hype? Pretty much. The want itself is tiny, really thin, and plastic with short bristles and a shape that’s vaguely reminiscent of an anorexic peanut. I’m a sucker for a big, thick bristled brush so I was a bit leery before the first swipe. Don’t be fooled, however, this little wand packs some serious punch in the glamour department. The thin shape allows you to get right in close to the root of your lashes and the stiff bristles do a pretty decent job of separating and coating them as you pull up. The peanuty shape helps give your lashes curl and the formula gives you a bold look with one swipe. That being said, this is not a mascara for girls (or boys) who prefer a more natural lash look. Yes, you get glamorous, wow lashes but no one’s going to think you roll out of bed with those beauties. I also find it’s hard to get truly separated, fluttery lashes with this mascara. I find I usually have to go in with a eyelash comb after the second coat to remove some of the excess mascara and separate a few lashes that are threatening to clump.

I’ve had no issues with the mascara flaking or smearing during the day but I have noticed it’s a chore to get off. Even after using my Emma Hardie cleanser and following up with eye makeup remover, I couldn’t get it all. I ended up going to bed with some left on for fear I’d pull out my eyelashes if I tried any longer. It did come completely off in the shower the next morning though, not even a trace of raccoon eyes! It may be easier with a more heavy duty makeup remover but I didn’t have one to test the theory.

Overall, I’m impressed with this mascara, I’d keep it around for a night out or days I want my eyes to have some real oomph. This would be an awesome choice for people who really like to emphasize their eyelashes and aren’t too fussed about keeping things natural.

This was $7.99 at Target but you can find it at most drugstores.

Image credit: womansday.com

One thought on “Product Review: L’Oreal Telescopic Shocking Extensions mascara

  1. Pingback: Product Review: L’Oréal Voluminous Power Volume 24H Mascara | Full Coverage Beauty

Leave a Reply

