Seven Deadly Sins of Beauty Tag

makeup, cosmetics, beauty, tag, seven sins of beauty

1. GREED: What is your most inexpensive beauty item? What is your most expensive?

The most inexpensive beauty products I own definitely come from elf (their products average $1-$3) BUT I’m going to give you a product that I use regularly. The Ardell Brow Sculpting Gel is a clear gel I use to hold my unruly eyebrow hairs in place – the best part: It’s pretty cheap ($6.49). Before this I used the Anastasia Brow Gel in Clear ($22) and I haven’t seen much difference between the two. If anything, I like the brush of the Ardell one better, it’s slightly smaller which allows for greater control. I will say the packaging is very cheap looking but at $6 I didn’t expect anything fancy. It’s not an AMAZING product but it’s as good as any I’ve tried and it saves me money – counts as a win in my book.

2. WRATH: What beauty product do you have a love/hate relationship with? What product has been the hardest to get?

emma hardie, skin care, beauty, cosmetics, oily skin, tag, skin care routine

Hmm this would have to be Maybelline’s Volum’ Express The Rocket Lash mascara. I go back and forth with this product. Sometimes I really like it and sometimes I think it’s getting a one-way ticket to the trash can. The first coat looks great – it does an amazing job of defining and coating each lash, its stiff bristle wand is merciless when it comes to separation. The second coat is where I have issues. The lashes look really coated and fake and lose some of their natural curl. I keep wanting to love it and I hate the idea of throwing money away so I’ve experimented with different ways of applying it. Currently I’m using it to do my first coat and then layering it with Maybelline The Falsies Flared for my second coat. The Rocket Lash gives me separation and definition while the Falsies Flared gives me curl and volume without making my eyelashes look coated with mascara. Power couple. As for what product has been the hardest to get, that would have to be my Emma Hardie Amazing Face Moringa Cleansing Balm. This is hands down the loveliest cleanser I’ve ever used. It melts into your skin and takes off all your makeup, even eye makeup in one step. It cleans your skin beautifully without being the slightest bit drying. The one downside is that it’s ridiculously difficult to get your hands on, especially here in the states.

3. GLUTTONY: What’s your most delicious beauty product?

This one’s easy, my Jo Malone English Pear and Freesia cologne. I’ve had it for about two months and my obsession has yet to diminish. It’s absolutely the most delicious, summery fragrance – I’d be lying if I said I haven’t been tempted to sneak a taste. It’s fruity and sweet without being saccharine; there’s just enough of a floral note to cut the sugary scent and it gives the fragrance a more mature tone than your average fruity body spray. It doesn’t have the greatest staying power but I managed to snag a sample of the cologne too and carry it around with me for touch-ups or sporadic moments of weakness. I realize Jo Malone is a wee bit pricey but in this case it’s worth it – this scent has earned a permanent spot in my perfume line up.
4. SLOTH: What beauty product do you neglect, due to laziness?

beauty, tag, cosmetics, skin care, lips, balm, salve

I’d have to go with lip products on this one. I’m a lip balm girl all the way (current faves are EOS summer fruits and Smith’s Rosebud Salve). For some reason I feel that adding a lip takes my makeup over the edge from more natural to a real made-up look, but  maybe I’m just working my way up to bold lips. If I’m honest though, I mostly stick to lip balm because it’s easy – no touch ups, no matching, no worries.

5. PRIDE: What beauty product gives you the most self-confidence?

I’m going to have to cheat a little on this one. Since I have problematic skin, I steer clear of mirrors and/or the public when I don’t have a base on. I guess this makes my Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation the numero uno confidence booster. A very close second (maybe even confidence booster 1.5) is my Bobbi Brown eyebrow pencil in gray. My eyebrows sort of give up the plot halfway across my eye so filling in my eyebrows makes a massive difference for me. I personally think properly shaped eyebrows are the single biggest way to impact your look so going around with two half eyebrows isn’t the greatest for my confidence levels.

6. LUST: What attributes do you find most attractive in the opposite sex?

Since this is a beauty tag, I’m kind of assuming this is about appearance but so you all don’t think I’m a superficial twit I’m throwing in some personality things as well. For the physical check list I love a good head of hair and some solid eyebrows. Does anyone else notice guys’ eyebrows or is this a result of my deeply rooted eyebrow insecurity? I also like a nice jaw line – can’t go wrong with that. Going beneath surface level, I go for confidence, kindness, intelligence, and a great sense of humor.

Well, that’s my Match.com profile written.

7. ENVY: What items would you most like to receive as a gift?

beauty, cosmetics, fragrance, cologne, perfume, tag

I’ve been lusting after the Escentual Molecules “Molecule 01” fragrance for a while now. It’s a fragrance with only one base note scent (most perfumes have a whole handful) that reacts with your body’s natural pheromones to produce a completely custom, irresistible fragrance. How amazing does that sound?? It’s also interesting because most people can’t actually smell it on themselves, they only get the occasional whiff when the breeze changes or when they catch it lingering on clothing. Other people, however, are apparently drawn to it like those crazy women in the Axe commercials. The perfume has rave, sometimes hilarious, reviews and seems like it would really fun to try. The problem is it’s a tad hard to get hold of in the states and its VERY pricey. If you have a rather large amount of disposable income I think it would make an awesome gift – it’s a unisex scent too!

Image credits: allwomensweekend.com, emmahardie.com, vogue.com cultbeauty.co.uk

2 thoughts on “Seven Deadly Sins of Beauty Tag

Leave a Reply

