Product Review: Lush Mask of Magnaminty

Lush, Face Mask, Beauty, Skin care, acne, oily skin, cleanser, exfoliating, pampering, luxury, cosmetics

I love a good trip to the Lush store, everything is so pretty and smells so good, it’s a girly paradise. I think it would be so fun to be the person who mixed up their fabulous concoctions – like when you were little and made potions from all the different products in the bathroom. To be honest, though, I only buy a couple kinds of Lush products; I don’t take baths and I can’t bring myself to pay that much for shampoo. I will, however, splash out for a Lush face mask. There’s something so luxurious and indulgent about slathering on a face mask and Lush make some great ones. For years I would pick up the Cupcake one when I happened across a Lush, it’s specifically formulated for oily, spotty skin (sigh) and smells like chocolate. What’s not to love? But while it felt lovely and cool on my skin, I can’t say I ever noticed any real benefits. On my last trip, however, they were completely sold out of Cupcake so the saleslady recommended I try their Mask of Magnaminty, her personal fave and the only Lush face mask that doesn’t require refrigeration (I always forget I have one in the fridge). Here’s a snippet of the description from the Lush site:

“China clay and fresh peppermint reach deep down to pull the debris from your pores, giving you that delightful tingly-clean sensation. We add loads of aduki beans to exfoliate flaky or dry skin, vanilla absolute to calm redness and honey to soothe.”

I am in love. The mask smells (and looks) like mint chocolate ice cream and is soothing and cool on the skin. It’s very thick in consistency yet comes off cleanly – no sneaky green residue. The very best thing is that the effect is immediate. Even when I’m having a breakout, my skin still feel refreshed and looks happier and healthier as soon as I wash it off. Speaking as someone whose face was bitch-slapped by puberty, I know there’s no miracle cure for problematic skin. That being said, this mask may be as close as it gets. A friend tried it while at my house and then went out that same week and bought it for herself and her mom. There’s a rumor she even got her boyfriend to use it…I don’t know why men don’t use more beauty products, skin problems aren’t gender specific last I checked!

Anyway, I’m off to go use this very mask. I have a feeling I’ll be repurchasing this product for years to come and I suggest you check it out next time you find yourself in Lush!

($24.95/11.1oz) available in stores and online.

Image Credit: Lush.co.uk

Leave a Reply

